Canberra Glassworks invites the media to interview Canberra Glassworks Artists in Residence.
Interviews with the artists or the Artistic Director are available upon request.

Canberra Glassworks has announced the successful applicants for the 2024 Artist in Residence program. This highly sort after program invites artists from all career levels to immerse themselves in the facility, focusing on creating new works or researching techniques using glass. While at the Glassworks, artists will have full access to all kilns, the glass blowing studio, mould-making area, and all other technical facilities.

Canberra Glassworks 2024 Artist in Residence program will support 16 new residents across five programs: Artist in Residence, New Graduate, Writer in Residence, Access & Equity Residency, and Creative Fellowship.

The Artist in Residence program includes the following established artists:

Hannah Gason (ACT) and Elliot Bastianon (ACT) will use their residency to develop new work that will represent Canberra at Melbourne Design Fair 2025.

Glass artist Holly Grace (VIC) will collaborate with master instrument maker, Kevin Bradley, to explore the use of glass as a canvas for video projection and an acoustic device. Kathy Elliott (NSW) has achieved international recognition for her collaborative glasswork with partner Ben Edols. She will focus her residency on exploring new carving applications on blown glass forms.

Ceramicists, Lynda Draper (NSW), and Janet Fieldhouse (QLD) from the Torres Strait, will translate their practices in glass for the first time.

Elliat Rich (NT) will embark on a slow format residency of six months to experiment and develop samples and trials in glass. This will contribute to the creation of a series of new, innovative works to be showcased in Canberra, Melbourne, Darwin, and Queensland Gallery of Modern Art.

Celebrating the creative contributions of individuals with intellectual disabilities, the Glassworks Access & Equity Residency will welcome Guy Frederick, Thom Roberts, Skye Saxon, and Katrina Brennan (NSW) from Studio A. Their residency plans to highlight these artists’ impact on communities and the environment.

The New Graduate Residency offer the chance for emerging artists to spend time developing their work after graduating. In 2024 the artists include Kate Shierlaw (SA), University of South Australia, and Carman Skeehan (SA), JamFactory Associate program.

Spence Messih (NSW) will collaboration with a writer to create a new work for the Canberra Art Biennale as the Writer in Residence.

Canberra Glassworks Mentorship was awarded to Peter Nilsson (ACT), a master of cold glass, who will be exploring new processes in hot glass with glass blower, Annette Blair.

As this year’s Art Group Creative Fellow, Josie Gluck, USA, will encourage and support the next generation of glass makers here at Canberra Glassworks with her passion for skill sharing and teaching.

Artistic Director, Aimee Frodsham commented, ‘We are thrilled to introduce the diverse and talented lineup of artists participating in our 2024 Artist in Residence Program. This year’s cohort includes established and emerging artists from various disciplines, each bringing a unique pers­pective and creative approach to their practice.’

In 2024 this program is primarily supported with funding from Creative Australia with additional support from ArtsACT and ArtGroup


Canberra Glassworks 2024 Artist in Residence Program

Art Group Creative Fellow 2023/24

Josie Gluck (USA)

Artist in Residence

Elliot Bastianon (ACT)

Lynda Draper (NSW)

Kathy Elliott (NSW)

Janet Fieldhouse (QLD)

Hannah Gason (ACT)

Holly Grace (VIC)

Elliat Rich (NT)

Canberra Glassworks Mentorship

Peter Nilsson (ACT)

Glassworks Access & Equity Residency

Studio A – Guy Frederick, Thom Roberts, Skye Saxon and Katrina Brennan (NSW

New Graduate Residency

Kate Shierlaw (SA)

Carman Skeehan (SA)

Writer in Residence

Spence Messih (NSW) collaboration with writer

Media Enquiries

Brooke McEachern
Marketing Manager
(02) 6185 0377

Aimee Frodsham
Artistic Director
(02) 6185 0378